Caribous take Game 1 of Herder Memorial Trophy final

(Mar. 26, 2017) -- Brandon Roach's power play marker with 34 seconds left to play in the second period was the winner as the Clarenville Caribous edged the Harbour Grace Ocean Enterprises CeeBee Stars 4-2 in Game 1 of the Herder Memorial Trophy Championship Series Saturday night.

At the Danny Cleary Community Centre in Harbour Grace, Mason Reid opened the scoring for the Central West Senior Hockey League champion Caribous and Ryan Desrosiers made it 2-0 midway through the second. CeeBees pickup Shane Boland of the Puglisevich Southern Shore Breakers brought the CeeBees within one before Roach's tally.

Jeremy Nicholas, another pickup from the Shore, made it 3-2 with a shorthanded goal early in the third, but the CeeBees weren't able to close the gap and the Caribous' Stu MacRae added an empty net goal in the third.

Jason Churchill made 32 stops for the win, while A.J. Whiffen saw 32 in net for the CeeBees.

Game 2 in the series is this afternoon, 2 o'clock, in Harbour Grace. Games 3, and if necessary, 4 and 5 are set for the Eastlink Events Centre in Clarenville next Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

Prior to the contest, Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador handed out senior hockey awards for the 2016-17 season. The winners were:

The Telegram Trophy (Team with best winning average in regular season):
Harbour Grace Ocean Enterprises CeeBee Stars (18-2-1, 37 pts)

SE Tuma Memorial Award (Leading scorer): Matthew Thomey, CeeBee Stars (14 goals, 20 assists, 34 pts)

T.A. Gus Soper Memorial Award (MVP) & President's Goaltender Award (Top goalie): A.J. Whiffen, CeeBee Stars (17-2-1, 1.67 GAA, .953 SVPCT)

[2017-03-26 09:06:05]

Here's to the Herder champion CeeBees, the Caribous and great senior hockey
[2017-04-04 20:13:03]

Hunt for the Herder down to a best-of-three: CeeBees head to Clarenville to take on Caribous
[2017-03-31 11:37:29]

CeeBees equalize Herder Memorial Trophy finals with 2-1 over Caribous
[2017-03-26 15:52:38]

Caribous take Game 1 of Herder Memorial Trophy final
[2017-03-26 09:06:05]

Herder Game 1 & 2 ticket pre-sale details announced
[2017-03-23 15:56:43]

CeeBees win AESHL title, advance to Herder Memorial Trophy championship series
[2017-03-17 21:10:03]

CeeBees edge Eagles for 3-2 series lead
[2017-03-15 19:50:12]

Game 5 tonight in Harbour Grace
[2017-03-15 12:17:45]

Eagles tie series with 4-3 win; Game 5 postponed due to high winds
[2017-03-11 12:54:24]

Game 4 tickets on sale Thursday and Friday
[2017-03-08 14:36:26]

CeeBees down Eagles 4-2 in Game 3, take 2-1 series lead
[2017-03-05 07:12:17]

Thomey helps CeeBees even up in AESHL final
[2017-03-03 20:35:02]

Pre-sale for Game 2 of AESHL final starts tonight
[2017-03-02 11:06:06]

Eagles double up CeeBees in championship series opener
[2017-03-01 19:43:19]

AESHL final starts Wednesday in Harbour Grace: CeeBees host Eagles in Game 1
[2017-02-28 20:28:16]

Eagles down Breakers in OT, advance to AESHL final
[2017-02-24 20:53:20]

Eagles host Breakers in Game 7: Winner advances to championship series vs. CeeBees
[2017-02-23 20:27:53]

Breakers edge Eagles in double OT, send series to Game 7
[2017-02-19 20:09:44]

CeeBees headed to AESHL championship series
[2017-02-18 20:46:05]

Eagles on the brink of another finals appearance after routing Breakers
[2017-02-17 21:41:26]

CeeBees can clinch championship berth this weekend; Breakers and Eagles deadlocked
[2017-02-16 11:31:05]

CeeBees shutout Caps, lead series 3-1
[2017-02-14 08:59:16]

Breakers draw even in semifinal against the Eagles
[2017-02-12 20:59:16]

Feehan leads CeeBees to victory and series lead over Caps
[2017-02-11 21:11:49]

Eagles pull ahead in semifinal vs. Breakers: Northeast win 5-2 on Friday night
[2017-02-10 20:46:17]