AESHL 50th Anniversary Reunion Sep 24th


On Saturday, September 24th, 2016 the Avalon East Senior Hockey League will celebrate an important milestone as it will hold its 50th Anniversary Reunion at Jack Byrne Arena starting at 7:00pm.

Hundreds of players have competed on fourteen different teams since the league started its inaugural season on October 16th, 1967, making it the oldest, continuous senior hockey league in Newfoundland and Labrador. Teams throughout the years include Torbay, Flatrock, Southern Shore, Bauline, Portugal Cove, Pouch Cove, Outer Cove, CBN Ceebees, Bell Island, St. John’s, Mount Pearl, Northeast, Conception Bay Central and Conception Bay South.

Flatrock Flyers, Southern Shore Breakers and the CBN Ceebees have each won Herder Memorial trophies as league representatives since its inception in 1967.

“The evening will be celebration shared amongst teammates and adversaries who have each had the privilege of competing in the Avalon East over the past 50 years”, commented Reunion Chair David Brazil. The reunion will feature a sit down meal, music, player testimonials, archival information displays and a silent auction, in addition to announcing the first inductees into the Avalon East Senior Hockey League Hall of Fame.

Tickets for the event are $50.00 and can be purchased at the Jack Byrne Arena.

For more information, please contact
David Brazil
(709) 725-9075